Morton News


Announcements:  The MSU/Scott County Extension Service Office, 230 South Davis Street, Forest, will close on Wednesday, November 22 at noon and reopen on Monday, November 27,  Christmas holidays for the staff will begin on Monday, December 20 and reopen on January 2, 2018
The remaining date in November for the We Care Mission Food Distribution is, Tuesday, November 21.
Don’t forget the Christmas Musical “Peace” to be presented at First Baptist Church of Morton on Sunday December 10 at 6:00 p.m.
Ronnie McDowell will be in concert at the Mariott Courtyard, Pearl on Saturday, December 16 at 6:00 p.m. Tickets are $50.VIP seating and $30. other seating.  The venue is limited for space and there is a limited number of tickets.  If interested, call Lisa Nutt @ 601-732-8121 for more information and availability of tickets.
The City of Morton Christmas Parade is scheduled for Monday, December 4 at 6:00 p.m.  Line up for judging of the floats is 5:00 p.m. Categories for floats featuring the “Christmas Blessings” are:  Red-Religious, Green-Business/Commercial, Gold-Civic/ Organizations.  Pageant winners will be judged on decorations on their vehicles.
Congratulations to:  Reggie and Jeannine Robertson on being honored to serve as Grand Marshall of the Christmas Parade.  They are former educators in the Morton School system and are active in many church/civic activities throughout the Morton trade area.
To:  Kaylee Yates, the daughter of Karen Robertson Yates and the late Mickey Yates and the granddaughter of the Reggie Robertson's, on being inducted into the prestigious Phi Kappa Phi Honor society at the University of Mississippi. This oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society, by invitation only, nominates the top 10 percent of seniors.  Personal best wishes go out to Kaylee and encouragement on continued success in her future endeavors.
To:  Those MHS seniors signing athletic scholarships to be team members of colleges at the next level of studies.  They are:  Katheryn Reeves-Softball at East Mississippi community College; Easton Portewr-Baseball at Southwast Community College and Coby Gilbert-baseball at Southwest community College.
To:  Those students at Morton Elementary School on being Positive Office Referrals:  Jordan Bedford, Davarius McDonald, Brooklyn Prestage, Caitlyn Martyin, Damarian Nelson, Ayva Nichols, Jayden Boyd, Jericka Wilson, Melisa Reyes, Maynor Sebastian, Keeton Moore, Sammy Santiago, Kaleb Yarbrough, Lexie Maglothin, Jasmine Ratliff, Noah Holmes, Betty Mason, Lataskin Woods, Ja’Khya Canady, Kamdyn Simon, Kyla Jones, Jayce Mapp, Dayana Garcia Lopez, Marcos garcia, Clara Grace rogers, Marlie Conn, Jamichael Brown, Tarah Merchant, Grayson Johnson, Dayana Salazar, Ava McClendon, Jordan Morales, Jayla Townsend and Hannah Moore.  Keep up the good work strudents and those outstanding teachers/staff who instruct and encourage them to excel.


Prayers and concern for:  Kara Yates, Constance Hicks, Thelma Tatum, Truitt Calhoun of Louisiana, and continued concern for Sue Pickett, DixieWhite, Kim Booth Nixon and all victims of the recent acts of violence, killing and injuring innocent citizens, also all military personnel as they serve our nation.

Sympathy to the families of:  Edward Paul Everitt, Earnesteen Jones, Tamara Shea “Tam” Madden Risher, Henry Enos Townsend, Dr. Daniel Gambrell, Garale Rube Monk, Vander L. Sones, Robert L. Franklin and Jerry Lee Vinzant.